The Show on KJZZ

Listen live weekdays at 9 a.m.

6 Nominated To Fill Arizona Court Of Appeals Seat

Published: Friday, October 23, 2020 - 12:25pm
Updated: Monday, October 26, 2020 - 10:19am
Audio icon Download mp3 (858.65 KB)

Six nominees are up for appointment to Division One of the Arizona Court of Appeals. One of them will fill an opening created by the retirement of Judge Kenton Jones.

The Commission on Appellate Court Appointments recommended three judges and three attorneys to Gov. Doug Ducey, who will send one of them to the seat. 

The three judges up for the spot are Republicans. Joseph P. Goldstein is a commissioner at the Superior Court in Yavapai County. Christopher L. Kottke is a judge pro tem at the Superior Court in Yavapai County and Rick A. Williams is a judge at the Superior Court in Mohave County.

Andrew J. Becke is a Democrat and a partner at Murphy, Schmitt, Hathaway, Wilson & Becke PLLC in Prescott.

Veronika Fabian and Brian Y. Furuya are both independents. Fabian is a partner at Choi & Fabian PLC in Chandler, and Furuya is deputy county attorney at the Coconino County Attorney’s Office.

The now retired Judge Jones was appointed by Republican Gov. Jan Brewer in 2013.

Division One of the Court of Appeals hears cases arising in Apache, Coconino, La Paz, Maricopa, Mohave, Navajo, Yavapai and Yuma counties.